Accepted!

So I get an email yesterday from Michigan State. Because it is so early in the application process (I didn’t hear back from my schools until March last year), I assumed that there was some part of my application that I had missed or that they didn’t receive. I open the email and look at the first lines: “Below is a letter we will be sending you through the mail…” My heart sinks. You have to understand that the stream of rejection letters last year left an indelible mark, so I assumed that anything being mailed to me would be bad. Boy, I thought to myself, it sure didn’t take them long to reject me. But, much like the morbid allure of road-kill, I was forced to keep reading:

I am pleased to inform you that you have been admitted to the Ph.D. program at Michigan State University for the Fall semester 2008. The graduate admissions committee was very impressed by your academic achievements; and your interests match well with emphases in our program. We have several faculty members who would be delighted to work with you.”

Hu?! What? Really? They accepted me? Yes and yes. Though I can hardly believe, I have been accepted to an English Lit Ph.D. program. Well, I did the only thing one can do in such a situation: called up some friends and went out for Thai food.

We are the Spartans!

7 thoughts on “Accepted!

  1. Congratulations.

    I refuse to call you Doctor. Maybe sometimes I’ll call you Doc, but that’s it.

    No better reason to enjoy Thai food than an occasion like this.

    Roooooooo Hoooooooo

  2. Congratulations! I visit your blog every now and then (you make interesting posts!) and was pleased to see your good news. Are you for sure going to move to Lansing? When would you go, and all that? How long is the program, and what will you do when you are finished? Teach? (I sometimes wish I had done the PhD route and become a college professor, or something like that…).

    Good on you. When you are finished, you will never want to go to school, ever again! But it will be a huge accomplishment.

  3. Congratulations!

    As someone who was also rejected during the first year of graduate school applications I know how sweet this redemption can be.

    The part is this is the first school to reply, which means you can probably look forward to other similar letters. Was Michigan State the first choice?

    Oh, and can I get that Thai good as a to-go order?

  4. Thanks Tony and Shane. I haven’t heard back yet from my other schools, so obviously I will be waiting a bit before I make a final decision. However, there are some faculty at MSU who I would love to work with and I’d be very happy to go there. I’m flying out for a campus visit later this month, so I’ll have a better idea then about how sure I am about MSU after that.

    I would go out there this summer, and it’s a 4-5 year degree. I’m sure by the end of it I’ll be sick of school, but right now I can’t wait to start taking classes again!

  5. Congratulations, Porter! You’ll be a great college professor (or whatever else you set your mind to). I’m jealous you’re headed back to school.

    –Joseph

Leave a Reply

